FULL OF GRACE BY RAY MERRITT

P1150736web

 

A great book to explore the history of photography and childhood, from Victorian age until today.

A special note on the cover, Martin Munkácsi’s ‘Boys at Lake Tanganyika’ partly owes its iconic status to the high praise given to it by Henri Cartier-Bresson.

‘In 1932, I saw a photograph by Martin Munkácsi of three black children running into the sea and I must say that it is that
very photograph which was for me the spark that set fire to fireworks… and made me suddenly realise that photography could reach eternity through the moment,’ said Cartier-Bresson. ‘I couldn’t believe such a thing could be caught with the camera. I said damn it, I took my camera and went out into the street.’

http://www.amazon.com/Full-Grace-Journey-through-Childhood/dp/1576873293

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

